Julian Cope – Vinyl Re-issues

Julian Cope – Vinyl Re-issues

When The Teardrop Explodes finally ground to a halt in late 1982, all eyes were on what leader Julian Cope would do next. After retreating to the village of Drayton Bassett in Staffordshire for an extended period, Cope began writing World Shut Your Mouth, his first solo album.

Released in March 1984, it is the closest to his old band of all his solo work (Metranil Vavin and Pussyface were both originally intended for the Teardrops), World Shut Your Mouth featured Gary Dwyer on drums, and, giving the album its most distinctive sound, Kate St. John on oboe. Beautifully pastoral, it is full of highlights such as Strasbourg, Kolly Kibber's Birthday and the wistful, reflective Head Hang Low. The strange, string-led, schizophrenic, Sunshine Playroom was the album's first single, followed up by 'radio hit' Greatness And Perfection.

Please accept statistics, marketing cookies to watch this video.

Cope's second album of 1984, Fried, is one his boldest. It made many think that after a while teetering on the edge, Julian Cope had finally tipped over into an artistic madness, amplified by his wearing a turtle shell and staring at a toy van on a landscaped spoil tip in Warwickshire on the album's sleeve. Opening track Reynard The Fox added to it all, a six-minute psychedelic garage rock tour-de-force, breaking down to a Cope monologue where he gravely intones English folk tales from his vantage point, referring also to an onstage stomach-slashing incident from 1983. Sunspots, the sole single taken from the album, is one of his greatest recordings in a career that spans over 40 years.

Julian Cope - World Shut Your Mouth
Released 16 June 2024
Pre-order LP

Side 1:
1. Bandy's First Jump
2. Metranil Vavin
3. Strasbourg
4. Elegant Chaos
5. Quizmaster
6. Kolly Kibber's Birthday
Side 2:
1. Sunshine Playroom
2. Head Hang Low
3. Pussyface
4. Greatness And Perfection
5. Lunatic And Fire-Pistol

Julian Cope - Fried
Released 12 July 2024
Pre-order LP

Side 1:
1. Reynard The Fox
2. Bill Drummond Said
3. Laughing Boy
4. Me Singing
5. Sunspots
Side 2:
1. The Bloody Assizes
2. Search Party
3. O King Of Chaos
4. Holy Love
5. Torpedo

Both re-issues faithfully replicate their original Mercury Records UK release and are pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl. Fried also comes with bonus poster.