Richard Thompson - ElectricNamed one of Rolling Stone Magazine’s 100 Greatest Guitarists and considered one of the UK’s most outstanding songwriters, musician Richard Thompson returns with a brand new, guitar driven record titled ‘Electric’ for Proper Records on Monday February 11th before taking to the road for a major UK tour on Wednesday February 20th (full tour details below).

After taking the bold step of recording his last album of new songs live, when it came to recording ‘Electric’, Thompson turned to Buddy Miller (Robert Plant, Solomon Burke, Emmylou Harris. Patty Griffin) to produce, recording at Miller’s home studio in Nashville, TN. Miller who himself is a renowned for his guitar skills recently told with Rolling Stone, “I played along on the record, playing rhythm guitar for him, and I got a two-week guitar lesson while he camped out in my house.”

The record was recorded as an electric trio with Thompson, drummer Michael Jerome and bassist Taras Prodaniuk, who both sing background vocals. Jerome and Prodaniuk formed part of the band which recorded and toured the UK Top Twenty album Dream Attic, released in August 2010. They make up the trio, with Thompson, on his forthcoming UK dates, his first extensive tour in two years.

Guests on ‘Electric’ include the legendary Alison Krauss who joins Thompson on ‘The Snow Goose’, while English singer-songwriter Siobhan Maher Kennedy (formerly with River City People and now resident in Nashville) adds vocals on several tracks as well. Fiddle great Stuart Duncan also plays on the record; one of America’s leading bluegrass musicians he played on recent albums by Robert Plant/Alison Krauss and Elvis Costello and will be familiar in the UK from BBC4’s Transatlantic Sessions.

‘Electric’ is released as a Standard CD, Deluxe two–disc set, download and 180 gram vinyl and is available now from, iTunes, and

1. Stony Ground
2. Salford Sunday
3. Sally B
4. Stuck on the Treadmill
5. My Enemy
6. Good Things Happen To Bad People
7. Where’s Home?
8. Another Small Thing In her Favour
9. Straight and Narrow
10. The Snow Goose
11. Saving The Good Stuff For You
1. Will You Dance, Charlie Boy
2. I Found A Stray
3. The Rival
4. The Tic-Tac Man
5. Auldie Riggs
6. Auldie Riggs Dance
7. So Ben Mi Ch’a Bon Tempo
Date City Venue Country
Sunday, 30th August 2015 Shrewsbury Shrewsbury Folk Festival United Kingdom
Buy Tickets
Tuesday, 1st September 2015 Dublin Vicar Street Ireland
Address: Vicar Street, Dublin, Republic of Ireland. Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 2nd September 2015 Perth Perth Concert Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 01738 621 031.
Thursday, 3rd September 2015 Aberdeen Aberdeen Music Hall United Kingdom
Address: Music Hall, Union Street, Aberdeen, AB10 1QS. Venue phone: 01224 641122.
Saturday, 5th September 2015 Edinburgh Queens Hall United Kingdom
Sunday, 6th September 2015 Gateshead The Sage Gateshead United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0191 443 4666.
Tuesday, 8th September 2015 Liverpool Philharmonic Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0151 210 2895. Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 9th September 2015 Salford The Lowry United Kingdom
Buy Tickets
Thursday, 10th September 2015 Sheffield City Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0114 2 789 789. Buy Tickets
Saturday, 12th September 2015 Nottingham Royal Concert Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0115 989 5500. Buy Tickets
Sunday, 13th September 2015 Birmingham Birmingham Symphony Hall United Kingdom
Buy Tickets
Tuesday, 15th September 2015 Cardiff St David’s Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 029 2087 8500. Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 16th September 2015 Bristol Colston Hall United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0117 922 3686. Buy Tickets
Friday, 18th September 2015 Ipswich Regent Theatre United Kingdom
Venue phone: 01473 433100. Buy Tickets
Saturday, 19th September 2015 Cambridge Corn Exchange United Kingdom
Buy Tickets
Sunday, 20th September 2015 London Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre United Kingdom
Venue phone: 0207 960 4200. Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 23rd September 2015 Paris New Morning France
Buy Tickets
Thursday, 24th September 2015 Zwolle Hedon Netherlands
Buy Tickets
Friday, 25th September 2015 Haarlem Patronaat Netherlands
Address: Zijlsingel 2 2013 DN Haarlem. Venue phone: 023 517 5850. Buy Tickets
Saturday, 26th September 2015 Bergen Gebouw Netherlands
Buy Tickets
Monday, 28th September 2015 Stuttgart Theaterhaus Germany
Address: Theaterhaus Stuttgart Siemensstr. 11 70469 Stuttgart. Venue phone: 0711 / 40 20 7 20. Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 30th September 2015 Nurnberg Hirsch Germany
Address: GdbR Vogelweiherstr. 66 D-90441 Nürnberg. Venue phone: 0911 / 42 94 14. Buy Tickets
Thursday, 1st October 2015 Frankfurt Zoom Germany
Buy Tickets
Saturday, 3rd October 2015 Bergamo Treviglio Italy
Buy Tickets
Saturday, 3rd October 2015 Zurich Papiersaal Switzerland
Buy Tickets
Wednesday, 7th October 2015 Brussels AB Flex Belgium
Buy Tickets

Subscribe: RSS | iCal

Tagged with: