New Album: Paul Heaton presents The 8th

New Album: Paul Heaton presents The 8th

Paul Heaton presents The 8thPaul Heaton is set to release the studio version of his outstanding soul opera The 8th on 2nd July. The new album features Paul Heaton himself, The Wire’s Reg E Cathey, Ex Beautiful South singer Jacqui Abbott, Cherry Ghost, King Creosote and many more.

The album includes performances from the full original The 8th cast, The Southside Sinnaires featuring: Reg E Cathey from US hit series The Wire, Mercury music prize nominee King Creosote, Ivor Novello winning artist Cherry Ghost, ex Beautiful South singer Jacqui Abbott, as well as sweet soul singer Wayne Gidden, Scottish singer songwriter Aaron Wright, The Earlies Christian Madden, Hull country & western singer Mike Greaves and the wonderful Yvonne Shelton.

The release will also include a full length DVD version of The 8th taken from last year’s Manchester International Festival 11 performance.

Please accept statistics, marketing cookies to watch this video.

The 8th – given a theatrical narrative by award-winning playwright Che Walker (Royal Court and Young Vic) and directed by Paines Plough’s joint artistic director George Perrin – is one of the longest songs ever written. It is a song in eight chapters and looks at the seven deadly sins through a series of scenes taking place in a single poverty-stricken neighbourhood, one where a new, thoroughly modern sin, The 8th is able to insinuate itself into every person’s life.

Paul Heaton presents The 8th is available now:
Buy / Stream / Download The 8th